Cancelled events showing as normal events



  • When marking an event as cancelled on our caldav server (with thunderbird/ligthning), the event is still showed as active on the android device after a sync with davdroid.
    Is this a bug or a feature ?


  • developer

    Hello,

    It sounds like a bug either in DAVdroid, or Android, or Thunderbird/Lightning, or the CalDAV server, but without logs and detailed debug information, I think there can't be a qualified answer…



  • Hello,

    Here is the snippet : https://gitlab.com/snippets/11420
    The cancelled event has got UUID 007932c2-ddf3-4ae6-a4fb-3cf3635d97c1.
    The cancelled event is downloaded lines 47233 to 47303 and added line 47756.

    Here are debug informations :

    SOFTWARE INFORMATION
    DAVdroid version: 0.9.1.2 (86) Thu Dec 10 09:00:12 GMT+01:00 2015
    Installed from: org.fdroid.fdroid
    JB Workaround installed: no
    
    CONFIGURATION
    System-wide synchronization: automatically
    Account: agenda académique
      Address book sync. interval: —
      Calendar     sync. interval: manually
      OpenTasks    sync. interval: manually
    Account: Perso
      Address book sync. interval: —
      Calendar     sync. interval: manually
      OpenTasks    sync. interval: manually
    
    SYSTEM INFORMATION
    Android version: 5.1.1 (23.4.A.1.264)
    Device: Sony D6503 (D6503)
    

    Best regards,

    Laurent Haeffele


  • developer

    I have verified that:

    1. DAVdroid (ical4android) sets Events.STATUS = STATUS_CANCELLED correctly,
    2. the event is shown as active in the calendar nevertheless (tested with Samsung SPlanner and Etar).

    So I'm a bit confused, as I don't know what DAVdroid could do more than setting the correct Event.STATUS. I guess this is an Android bug. Or do you have any ideas?



  • Another way of dealing this problem would be to simply delete events marked as cancelled.


  • developer

    @lhaeffele said:

    Another way of dealing this problem would be to simply delete events marked as cancelled.

    But then they would

    1. have to be deleted on the server, too (which I think is inacceptable), or
    2. will be downloaded (and immediately dismissed) on every synchronization, which doesn't sound like a good solution, too.

    Maybe there's just some flag missing, but I can't see which one…


Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to Bitfire App Forums was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.