Help a Newbi

• Sorry to be "that guy" but I am very new to Linux and I am having a ton of trouble trying to get the driver onto my PC. Is there anyone who could take the time to hold my hand and walk me through how to get this driver onto my PC? I'm a Photoshop artist trying to make the shift from Mac to Linux and I really wanna give this app a try.

• Which distribution are you using?

• Ubuntu 12.04. Sorry, I should have mentioned that.

• OK, what have you tried so far to get it working?

• I made an attempt at compiling the driver myself, which I did so badly that I'm not even sure I could describe how I messed that up.
    I tried the strait download of the .txt, but couldn't figure out how to load that binary. All I could manage with it was opening it as a read only text file. Again, I'm a serious noob.

• OK, If you have a 64-bit system:

1. Download the file. Don't use right mouse button to save it It's not a .txt file.
    2. Mark the file as executable. You can do this with the file-manager and the file properties or with the command line "chmod a+x FILENAME "

If you have a 32-bit system you have to compile it:
    -1. Open an Terminal
    0. Create a new directory

1. Clone the repository: git clone git://github.com/rfc2822/GfxTablet.git
    2. Install gcc, make and linux kernel header includes (Use the package-manager of your choice)
    3. cd driver-uinput; make

If something doesn't work please ask and give us as much information as you have.

• OK. I have a 32-bit system (Ubuntu 12.04 LTS), so I tried to compile it again. Here is the problem:

1. Create a new directory - DONE
    2. Clone the repository: git clone git://github.com/rfc2822/GfxTablet.git - DONE
    3. Install gcc, make and linux kernel header includes* - using the basic "Software Center" I could find the first two, but couldn't find the third. The first two were already on my system, but I'm not sure about the third.
    4. cd driver-uinput; make - DONE